Tractor Story - New York Farmer Found His Dad's 1981 IHC 1086 - Needs Help

I’ve been compiling sale price data on Tractors for 34+ years now. Seen LOTS of Tractors. All sizes. All manner of condition. Shiny. Rusty. New. Old. Prized possessions. Piles of junk.

Yes, Tractors are assets on the farm.

But they often become SO much more…

Which has lead to the countless amazing family history Tractor stories I’ve been privileged to hear from so many of you over the years. Thank You for sharing your own personal Tractor Tales with me.

Heard a powerful Tractor story today. Thought I’d share with you. Perhaps someone out there in position to help. This Tractor story starts 43 years ago on a New York farm in 1981.

From Facebook Follower Ed Blodgett:Machinery Pete, I’ve been a long-time fan and follower of all your media and services, but I’m probably reaching with this one I’m about to share. Considering your large-scale knowledge and network of the tractor and equipment world, I figured I’d run this by you. Back in the winter of 2008 I encouraged my father to sell his 1981 IHC 1086, he bought new from Saxby Implement in Mendon, NY.

The day it arrived in my parents driveway, 1981, I was two sitting in the cab.”

IHC1086-EdB-1

"I sorely regret it, but at the time I thought the only colors that mattered were JD green & yellow. However, as I’ve aged, that opinion has very much changed. This is the day it left our farm in winter ‘08

16 Years Ago. Beautiful Red Tractor Leaving The Farm.