Future Auction Trends

Pete, being a fellow Minnesotan, I don’t know of you see this down in your area but up here in the East Central part of the state​ the age of most of the farmers up here is by no means getting any younger. I’m a very young crop producer, just turned 30 this past April, started my crop farm from scratch when I was 15, and every meeting or coop dinner I go to I could easily be everyone’s grand child. Funny, but very much so the truth.
Up here in the last say 10 years there have been very few on farm auctions. There are still alot of guys farming a couple hundred acres, some dairies are still going, and a general mix of everyone still plugging away at what they have. And sure the big successful farms are getting bigger and renting more land, but even those guys are getting up there in age. Some have family to take over the operation and some do not.
With the average age of the American Farmer being what now, +/- 60 years old, at some point there will have to be a transition and with all the machinery in these seasoned boys hands what will the uptick in on farm auctions be? What’s the time frame in which selling starts to accelerate…5 years from now, 10? With all this new equipment in farmers hands what will the values be? And a large thought, will the younger generation be able to afford it? Or will there be a glut and softer prices will make the transition more affordable?
It’s going to be an interesting ride the next several years!

1 Like

Great questions/comment…wise mind from east-central MN! You have correctly identified some interesting macro ag economic trends. Truths that I see:

• Avg. age of American farmer is indeed in that 60 yr old range
  • LOT of new farm machinery was purchased 2008 - 2014
  • During those heady good times back in late 2007 into early 2013, even into 2014…the no. of machinery auctions at that time actually was down 55% vs. the time period of 2000 - 2006